new old profile cast rings reviews linkers random notes email layout host

In this diary, I record my life as a transvestite. Perhaps it will help somebody else, who finds their lifestyle doesn't quite match that endorsed by the 'tranny mafia'. Well, I've been there... and survived. The debriefing starts here.

�loves: All kinds of stuff that society thinks I shouldn't.

�hates: Microsoft. Obviously.

�reads:
secret-motel
artgnome
enfinblue
stepfordtart
ten-oclock
boombasticat
lawliiet
annanotbob
fifidellabon
my-serenade

Lynn Jones
Becky
Samantha

Light blue lipstick?
7:19 a.m. -- 2008-08-29

One of the best things about being your own boss is that you can dispense with all the bullshit. No health and safety rules; if I want to (temporarily) run an extension cable across the room, I do it. If I need to use a stepladder to reach the darker recesses of my filing system, so what?

I haven't filled out a risk assessment form in years. It's marvellous. As an added bonus, I don't have to sit through dippy appraisals every year, to see how I've grown and developed within my role.

But I have grown. There was a time when I was a colourful snail with a powerful flashlight. Now, (drumroll...)

Oink!

I think everybody - particularly the self-employed - should try to take the useless quiz anually. It's a lot like those silly group exercises that those of you who work for a big corporation have to do on away days... you know, the ones where you have to build a zeppelin out of uncooked spaghetti, or get your team safely across a notional 'gorge' using two short planks, some paperclips and a hedgehog.

Actually I quite liked those days. It was the ones in between that sucked.

In the same way that newspaper horrorscopes are nonsense, but can lead to useful (or at least comforting) introspection, the useless quiz is much more about the journey than the destination. And I must admit to a certain amount of delight at being a pig in lipstick - even if the colour is a bit trashy.

previous - next

|